Beauty, Cosmetics, Favorites, Hair, Makeup, Skin Care

My September 2017 Favorites

Hello my lovelies! Today’s topic is my favorite products from September 2017. So without further ado…

IMG_1879

Photo from Sephora

1. Natasha Denona – Lila Palette ($129) – This one should come as no surprise. I love the Lila Palette! Purples are very on trend for Fall 2017 and Lila is my favorite palette of the season so far. I previously reviewed this palette here.

I have some very exciting news for Natasha Denona fans! According to Trendmood1, Natasha will be releasing a holiday collection including both limited edition and permanent products. So far, we know that there is a five pan eyeshadow palette in the works.

IMG_2013

Photo from Sally Hansen

2. Sally Hansen – Diamond Flash Top Coat ($7.98 for 0.45 fl oz) – I used to get pricey gel manicures every two weeks, but it started to take a serious toll on my nails. In an effort to prevent further nail damage and save some cash, I started doing my own manicures. This is the best non-gel top coat that I’ve ever used. It makes my polish dry in a flash and lasts at least a week without chipping. I purchased this product on clearance for $4.98 at Walgreens, but it’s still available at Ulta. FYI: You will need a separate base coat. I like Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure Smooth and Strong ($8.99 for 0.5 oz.)

IMG_2014

Photo from Not Your Mother’s

3. Not Your Mother’s – In A Heart Beat Blow Dry Accelerator ($5.99 for 6 fl oz) – I was shopping for dry shampoo at Ulta and ended up purchasing this product on sale for BOGO 50% off. The In A Heart Beat Blow Dry Accelerator reduces styling time and provides crucial thermal protection. It also has a nice mist and smells pleasant which is always a plus.

IMG_2016

Photo from Artis Brush

4. Artis Oval 3 – Elite Mirror Collection ($41) – The Artis Oval 3 was designed to shade and blend the outside and inner corners and smaller areas of the eyelid. This multitasking brush is also very efficient at applying foundation or concealer in hard to reach places such as the inside corner of the eye or the side of the nose by the nostril. I like to use it to apply my brownbone highlight.

Artis brushes are made exclusively with CosmoFibre, a revolutionary engineered fibre made for applying cosmetic and makeup products.

Although Artis brushes are pricey, they use less product and blend beautifully. Real Techniques just launched a collection of similar brushes which I’m excited to try. There are also many cheaper alternatives on Amazon, but I can’t speak for their quality. I love this brush so much that I own two of them!

IMG_2017

Photo from Ulta

5. Butter London Glazen Eye Gloss ($24 for 0.19 oz) – I purchased the shades Mermaid, Frosted, Oil Slick and Unicorn for half price during the Ulta 21 Days of Beauty Sale. Butter London’s Glazen Eye Glosses are lightweight, buildable, long-wearing and crease-resistant. The pudding-like texture applies like a gel, but dries as a powder.

These glosses are great for an easy look on the go. Simply pop a powder shadow into the crease and then apply the eye gloss to the lids using your finger. My personal favorite shade at the moment is Frosted (warm sparkling rose gold.) Oil Slick (sparkling chameleon) is a stunning dark reddish-brown with a green duochrome shift. These shadows are very sparkly, so be forewarned if glitter isn’t your thing.

IMG_2018

Photo from Benefit Cosmetics

6. Benefit Cosmetics Ka-Brow! Cream-Gel with Brush ($24 for 0.1 oz) –  My next favorite seems appropriate because today is National Brow Day! This product was another bargain buy from the Ulta sale. I wear shade 03 Medium (light to medium brown, redheads – neutral-warm.) For reference, my hair color is medium brown. Unlike many brow pomades that I’ve tried, this one is really easy to apply and looks natural. If you prefer a more dramatic brow look, this cream-gel formula is buildable, but not tacky or thick. Also, it includes a handy built-in brush. I will definitely be trying out more Benefit brow products in the near future.

IMG_2019

Photo from Ulta

7. Ofra Cosmetics Highlighter – Rodeo Drive ($29 for 0.35 oz) – I’ve been curious about Ofra’s highlighters for a while now, and the 21 Days of Beauty Sale was the perfect excuse to try them out at half price. Although the shade Rodeo Drive is highly pigmented, it’s still flattering on my fair skin. I think that it would look gorgeous on many other skin tones as well. I have since picked up Beverly Hills, Blissful, Glazed Donut and Glow Goals from the Nikki Tutorials Collaboration. A word of caution: Ofra’s highlighters are super intense, so a little goes a long way.

IMG_2020

IMG_2022

hotfire_1024x1024@2x

Photos from Dose of Colors

8. Dose of Colors – DESI x KATY Collection – Hot Fire ($18) – Although the entire KATY x DESI Collection is perfection, the liquid lipstick in Hot Fire  is a definite high point. Hot Fire is an extremely vibrant and pigmented matte fiery orange red that would look amazing on anyone. This shade is unlike anything else in my vast lipstick collection.

As is often the case with highly pigmented liquid lipsticks, Hot Fire can be a little drying, so exfoliate before application and keep a lip balm on hand. I’d also recommend using a lip liner with this shade. (I found ColourPop’s Clique to be a good match.)

This limited edition collection is currently sold out, but Dose of Colors has stated that there will be a final restock sometime this month. (The exact date is unknown, but I’ll keep you posted.) I would also recommend picking up The Girls Eyeshadow Palette and either the FUEGO Highlighter (for fair to light skin) or MÍRAME Highlighter (for medium to deep skin.) If you’re highlighter obsessed like I am, then order them both! Dose of Colors is quickly becoming one of my new favorite makeup companies. Desi and Katy really killed it with this collection!

IMG_2030

The Dose of Colors DESI X KATY Collection. Isn’t the packaging everything? Photo from Allure

IMG_2026.PNG

MÍRAME and FUEGO Highlighters

IMG_2027.PNG

The Girls Eyeshadow Palette. Swatch photos from Dose of Colors

Well that’s it for this month. I have some exciting new products to review this week, so stay tuned! I will also be making some changes to the blog layout.

What products are loving right now?

xoxo, Sarah

Leave a Reply

